Restoring disks

You can restore disks and attach them to the same instance. In this case, you replace the original disks with the restored ones.

Considerations

For the Disk Labeling option:

  • During the restore, R‑Cloud applies its own labels to the disks to identify the original disk, the original instance, and the date of the restore. These labels include the hycu- prefix and cannot be removed.

  • Google Cloud uses the term labels, whereas AWS and Azure use the term tags.

Procedure

  1. In the Instances panel, click the instance whose disks you want to restore to open the Detail view.

    Note  The Detail view appears only if you click an instance. Selecting the check box before the name of the instance will not open the Detail view.

  2. In the Detail view that appears at the bottom of the screen, select the preferred restore point.
  3. Click Restore Instance Restore Instance.
  1. Select Restore Options, and then click Next.
  2. Select Restore Disks, and then click Next.
  3. From the list of disks that are available for the restore, select the ones that you want to restore, and then click Next.

    Note  If you select the boot disk, the instance will be shut down and restarted when the disks are restored.

  4. From the Restore From drop-down menu, select which tier you want to use for the restore. Your restore point can contain one or more tiers among which you can select:

    • Automatic: This option ensures the fastest and most cost-effective restore.

    • Backup (Snapshot)

    • Backup (Target)

    • Copy

    • Archive—(daily, weekly, monthly, yearly)

  5. Optional. In the Post-restore Script field, enter the path to the script or a command that R‑Cloud should run after the restore on the instance to which the restored disks are attached.

    Note  You can enter any command that the command-line interface of your instance supports.

  6. From the Disk Labeling drop-down menu, select among the following options:

    Option Description
    Keep original disk labels (default)

    The disks will retain the labels they had at the time of the backup.

    Use instance labels The original labels of the disks will be replaced with the labels of the instance.
    Remove disk labels The original labels of the disks will be removed.
    Merge original disk and instance labels The original disk labels will be combined with the labels of the instance. If a label key exists in both sets of labels, the value from the instance will be used.
  7. Click Restore.