Cloning an Azure instance

Considerations

For the Disk Labeling option:

  • During the restore, R‑Cloud applies its own labels to the disks to identify the original disk, the original instance, and the date of the restore. These labels include the hycu- prefix and cannot be removed.

  • In Azure, the term tags is used for the labels.

Procedure

  1. In the Instances panel, click the instance that you want to restore to open the Detail view.

    Note  The Detail view appears only if you click an instance. Selecting the check box before the name of the instance will not open the Detail view.

  2. In the Detail view that appears at the bottom of the screen, select the preferred restore point.

  3. Click Restore Instance Restore Instance.

  1. Select Clone Options, and then click Next.

  2. Select Clone Instance, and then click Next.

  3. In the New Instance Name field, specify a new name for the instance.

  4. From the Restore From drop-down menu, select which tier you want to use for the restore. Your restore point can contain one or more tiers among which you can select:

    • Automatic: This option ensures the fastest and most cost-effective restore.

    • Backup (Snapshot)

    • Backup (Target)

    • Copy

    • Archive—(daily, weekly, monthly, yearly)

  1. Optional. In the Post-restore Script field, enter the path to the script or a command that R‑Cloud should run on the restored instance after the restore.

    Note  You can enter any command that the command-line interface of your instance supports.

  2. From the Destination Source drop-down menu, select the source to which you want to restore the instance. The original source of the instance is preselected. You can choose from sources that belong to the currently selected protection set and that your user account can access.
  3. From the Destination Region and Destination Zone drop-down menus, select the region and the zone to which you want to restore the instance. The original region and zone of the instance are preselected.

  4. From the Disk Labeling drop-down menu, select how all the disks of the original instance should be labeled on the restored instance. You can select among the following options:
    OptionDescription
    Keep original disk labels (default)

    The disks will retain the labels they had at the time of the backup.

    Use instance labelsThe original labels of the disks will be replaced with the labels of the restored instance.
    Remove disk labels The original labels of the disks will be removed.
    Merge original disk and instance labels The original disk labels will be combined with the labels of the restored instance. If a label key exists in both sets of labels, the value from the restored instance will be used.
  5. Under Disk Name, do the following:

    1. Select the instance disks that you want to restore.

      Note  All disks of the instance are preselected for the restore. With such selection, the entire instance is restored. The boot disk is restored even if you do not select it.

    2. Edit the disks as required. For each selected disk, do the following:

      1. Click Edit Edit Disk.

      2. Only if you do not want R‑Cloud to automatically generate a name for the restored disk device or disk. In the New Disk Name field, enter a name for the restored disk.

      3. Only if you want to add labels to the restored disk.

        1. Click Advanced.

        2. Click Manage Manage.

        3. Enter a key and a value, and then click Add for each label that you want to add. If the selected disk already has one or more labels added, they are listed under Advanced. If you want to delete any of the added labels, click Delete Delete next to it.

          Note  During the restore, any labels you added are treated as the original disk labels. These labels will be applied on the restored disks if you select one of the following options in the Disk Labeling step: Keep original disk labels (default) or Merge original disk and instance labels. For the latter option, the label keys must not match the keys used on the destination instance.

      4. Click Save.

  6. Under Network Interfaces, review the list of networks that the original instance was configured in at the time of backup. For each configured network interface, you can separately adjust its public and private IP address types. By default, the public IP address configuration of the original instance is kept.

  7. Only if you want to add tags to the restored instance.

    1. Click Advanced.

    2. For each custom metadata tag that you want to add, click Manage Manage.
    3. Enter a key and a value, and then click Add.

      Note  If the selected instance already has one or more custom metadata tags added, they are listed under Custom Metadata. If you want to delete any of the added custom metadata tags, click Delete Delete next to it.

  8. Click Restore.