Cloning a Google Cloud instance
Limitation
You cannot restore instances that belong to a deleted Google Cloud project. Such instances are not listed in the Instances panel of the R‑Cloud web user interface.
Consideration
For the Disk Labeling option: During the restore, R‑Cloud applies its own labels to the disks to identify the original disk, the original instance, and the date of the restore. These labels include the hycu- prefix and cannot be removed.
Considerations
Only if you plan to replicate disks.
-
The boot disk cannot be replicated.
-
Standard persistent disks smaller than 200 GiB cannot be replicated.
-
Regional disks can be replicated only across two zones in the same region. One of these zones must be the same as the zone of the target instance.
-
If the region or zone of the target instance changes, all regional disks are automatically converted to zonal disks. In this case, the procedure of replicating the disks must be performed again.
Procedure
-
In the Instances panel, click the instance that you want to restore to open the Detail view.
Note The Detail view appears only if you click an instance. Selecting the check box before the name of the instance will not open the Detail view.
-
In the Detail view that appears at the bottom of the screen, select the preferred restore point.
-
Click
Restore Instance.
-
Select Clone Options, and then click Next.
-
Select Clone Instance, and then click Next.
-
In the New Instance Name field, specify a new name for the instance.
-
From the Restore From drop-down menu, select which tier you want to use for the restore. Your restore point can contain one or more tiers among which you can select:
-
Automatic: This option ensures the fastest and most cost-effective restore.
-
Backup (Snapshot)
-
Backup (Target)
-
Copy
-
Archive—(daily, weekly, monthly, yearly)
-
-
Optional. In the Post-restore Script field, enter the path to the script or a command that R‑Cloud should run on the restored instance after the restore.
Note You can enter any command that the command-line interface of your instance supports.
- From the Destination Source drop-down menu, select the source to which you want to restore the instance. The original source of the instance is preselected. You can choose from sources that belong to the currently selected protection set and that your user account can access.
-
From the Destination Region and Destination Zone drop-down menus, select the region and the zone to which you want to restore the instance. The original region and zone of the instance are preselected.
- From the Disk Labeling drop-down menu, select how all the disks of the original instance should be labeled on the restored instance. You can select among the following options:
Option Description Keep original disk labels (default) The disks will retain the labels they had at the time of the backup.
Use instance labels The original labels of the disks will be replaced with the labels of the restored instance. Remove disk labels The original labels of the disks will be removed. Merge original disk and instance labels The original disk labels will be combined with the labels of the restored instance. If a label key exists in both sets of labels, the value from the restored instance will be used. -
Under Disk Name, do the following:
-
Select the instance disks that you want to restore.
Note All disks of the instance are preselected for the restore. With such selection, the entire instance is restored. The boot disk is restored even if you do not select it.
-
Edit the disks as required. For each selected disk, do the following:
-
Click
Edit Disk.
-
Only if you do not want R‑Cloud to automatically generate a name for the restored disk device or disk. Do the following:
-
In the New Device Name field, enter a name for the restored disk device.
-
In the New Disk Name field, enter a name for the restored disk.
-
-
If you want to change the disk type, from the Disk Type drop-down menu, select one of the available disk types for the restored disk (Standard persistent disk, Balanced persistent disks, or SSD persistent disk). By default, the original disk type is selected.
-
If you want to replicate data between two zones in the region of the instance, make sure the Replicate this disk within region check box is selected, and then, from the Target Zone drop-down menu, select to which zone you want to replicate data. If the selected disk was regional at backup time, the two zones across which the disk is replicated are shown, otherwise, a list of all zones in the region of the instance is shown.
-
Only if you want to add labels to the restored disk.
-
Click Advanced.
-
Click
Manage.
-
Enter a key and a value, and then click Add for each label that you want to add. If the selected disk already has one or more labels added, they are listed under Advanced. If you want to delete any of the added labels, click
Delete next to it.
Note During the restore, any labels you added are treated as the original disk labels. These labels will be applied on the restored disks if you select one of the following options in the Disk Labeling step: Keep original disk labels (default) or Merge original disk and instance labels. For the latter option, the label keys must not match the keys used on the destination instance.
-
- Click Save.
-
-
-
Under Network Interfaces, review the list of networks that the original instance was configured in at the time of backup. The list shows the following for each such network:
-
Network type: Subnetwork for VPC networks and shared VPC networks, Legacy for legacy networks
-
Subnetwork name (for VPC networks and shared VPC networks) or network name (for legacy networks)
-
Only in case of a shared VPC network. Name of the host project of the network
For each configured network interface, you can separately adjust its public and private IP address types. By default, the public IP address configuration of the original instance is kept.
Modifying network settings
If you want to modify network settings, you can add an additional network interface, edit an existing network interface, or delete a network interface:
-
Click Add Network Interface to add a network interface or click
Edit next to the network interface that you want to edit, and then follow these steps:
- From the Destination Network drop-down menu, select the destination network.
-
In the Public Address Type field, select the public IP address for the network interface. You can select among the following options:
Option Description None The network interface does not use a public IP address.
This option is preselected if the network interface of the original instance did not use a public IP address.
Ephemeral The network interface uses an automatically allocated public IP address.
This option is preselected if the network interface of the original instance used a public IP address.
Static (Reserved) The network interface uses a static public IP address that was reserved in Google Compute Engine in advance. Static (New) The network interface uses a static public IP address that is allocated at the time of the restore. If the allocation fails, the instance is assigned a temporary public IP address. Such fallback also sets the restore task status to Done with errors. -
In the Private Address Type field, select the private IP address for the network interface. You can select between the following options:
Option Description Ephemeral (Automatic) The network interface uses an automatically allocated private IP address.
This option is selected by default for the preselected network interfaces.
Ephemeral (Custom) The network interface uses a private IP address that is defined by you.
Important Use of this option might result in IP address conflicts.
Static (Reserved) Not available for legacy networks. The network interface uses a static private IP address that was reserved in Google Compute Engine or in advance. Static (New) Not available for legacy networks. The network interface uses a new static private IP address that is defined by you.
Note Allocation of the IP address in Google Compute Engine is performed at the very beginning of the restore. If the allocation fails, the restore task is terminated without being logged.
-
Click Add or Save.
-
Click
Delete next to the network interface that you want to delete. Keep in mind that you cannot restore the instance without a network interface.
-
-
Only if you want to add labels and/or tags to the restored instance.
-
Click Advanced.
- For each label, network tag, or custom metadata tag that you want to add, click
Manage.
-
Enter a key and a value, and then click Add.
Note If the selected instance already has one or more labels, network tags, and/or custom metadata tags added, they are listed under Labels, Network Tags, or Custom Metadata. If you want to delete any of the added labels, network tags, and/or custom metadata tags, click
Delete next to it.
-
-
Click Restore.