Restoring an instance
You can restore an instance and its disks to the original location with the same settings. In this case, you replace the original instance with the restored one.
Considerations
-
Any data changes after the last successful backup are not protected and therefore cannot be restored.
-
For the Disk Labeling option:
-
During the restore, R‑Cloud applies its own labels to the disks to identify the original disk, the original instance, and the date of the restore. These labels include the
hycu-prefix and cannot be removed. -
Google Cloud uses the term labels, whereas AWS and Azure use the term tags.
-
Procedure
-
In the Instances panel, click the instance that you want to restore to open the Detail view.
Note The Detail view appears only if you click an instance. Selecting the check box before the name of the instance does not open the Detail view.
-
In the Detail view that appears at the bottom of the screen, select the preferred restore point.
-
Click
Restore Instance.
-
Select Restore Options, and then click Next.
-
Select Restore Instance, and then click Next.
-
From the Restore From drop-down menu, select which tier you want to use for the restore. Your restore point can contain one or more tiers among which you can select:
-
Automatic: This option ensures the fastest and most cost-effective restore.
-
Backup (Snapshot)
-
Backup (Target)
-
Copy
-
Archive—(daily, weekly, monthly, yearly)
-
-
From the Disks drop-down menu, select the instance disks that you want to restore.
Note All disks of the instance are preselected for the restore. With such selection, the entire instance is restored. The boot disk is restored even if you do not select it.
-
Optional. In the Post-restore Script field, enter the path to the script or a command that R‑Cloud should run on the instance after the restore.
Note You can enter any command that the command-line interface of your instance supports.
-
From the Disk Labeling drop-down menu, select how disks should be labeled on the restored instance. You can select among the following options:
Option Description Keep original disk labels (default) The disks will retain the labels they had at the time of the backup.
Use instance labels The original labels of the disks will be replaced with the labels of the restored instance. Remove disk labels The original labels of the disks will be removed. Merge original disk and instance labels The original disk labels will be combined with the labels of the restored instance. If a label key exists in both sets of labels, the value from the restored instance will be used. - Click Restore.